The RUSALCA Project

The Alliance Group has been implementing the RUSALCA Project since its inception in 2003 under the Cooperative Agreement with the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and with the financial support of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS) in the framework of the Memorandum of Understanding between RAS and NOAA signed in 2003. The project has also been backed up by the Hydrometeorological Service of the Russian Federation (Roshydromet) under the auspices of the Memorandum of Understanding between Roshydromet and NOAA signed in 2005. RUSALCA is an abbreviation for the full project name: Russian-American Long-term Census of the Arctic. The word RUSALCA means “mermaid” in Russian.

The project goal is to carry out long-term research to understand better causes and consequences of the reduction of ice cover in the northern part of the Bering Sea and the Chukchi Sea in the Arctic Ocean. Numerical modeling results suggest that expected permanent loss in the seasonal ice cover and albedo alterations should lead to the significant changes both in the water-column and current fluxes and in appropriate ecosystems of this region. Therefore, it is very critical to monitor the present state and the dynamics of ocean fluxes and the ecosystems in this region.

The first project expedition was conducted in the summer of 2004. It was a multidisciplinary cruise in research areas of water column physics, nutrient chemistry, pelagic and benthic biology, methane flux and baseline Arctic atmospheric chemistry. Oceanographic mooring stations were first deployed in the western part of the Bering Strait in 2004. They were recovered and redeployed annually from 2005 till 2012. In addition to the three mooring stations in the western, Russian part of the Bering Strait, five more stations were served annually, starting in 2007, which are located in the eastern, US part of the Bering Strait.

A significant number of CTD stations (Conductivity, Temperature, and Density), along with benthic biological stations, was made in 2005 through 2012. Two large, multidisciplinary expeditions has been arranged and successfully implemented in the year of 2009 and 2012 in the Beaufort, East-Siberian and Chukchi Seas. The 2009 research cruise has been widely covered by the news media even prior to its completion, including internationally recognized mass media such as The New York Times and Reuters. More detailed information can be received on the following RUSALCA web site by NOAA: www.arctic.noaa.gov/aro/russian-american/2009/, as well on the site of the RUSALCA Project: www.rusalcaproject.com.

The research cruises will be arranged every 2 to 4 years in the northern part of the Bering Sea, East-Siberian, Chukchi and Beaufort Seas depending on the availability of the financial resources.

Success story

А.А. Островский о проекте «РУСАЛКА»: A.A. Ostrovsky on RUSALCA Project:

“The main goal of this project is conduction of studies to understand the causes and the consequences of the climatic changes in latitudes of the Arctic Ocean. The RUSALCA Project is being realized by our Company from 2003 in a close cooperation with US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and with the support of Russian Academy of Sciences.
More than ten years of experience of successful management of such complex international scientific project have not only helped to strengthen the image of our Company but also brought out the Alliance Group onto new level in the sphere of international project management”.


Return

Проект РУСАЛКА

Проект РУСАЛКА осуществляется Группой Альянс с 2003 года по соглашению о сотрудничестве с НОАА (Национальная Администрация США по Океанам и Атмосфере) при финансовой поддержке Российской Академии Наук (РАН) в рамках Меморандума о взаимопонимании между РАН и НОАА, подписанного в 2003 году. Проект пользуется поддержкой Росгидромета в рамках Меморандума о взаимопонимании между Росгидрометом и НОАА, подписанного в 2005 году. Название проекта является аббревиатурой его английского названия: Russian-American Long-term Census of the Arctic или RUSALCA, переводящегося на русский как Российско-Американское Долговременное Исследование Арктики.

Целью проекта является проведение долговременных наблюдений для понимания причин и следствий уменьшения ледового покрова в северной части Берингова моря, а также в Чукотском и Восточносибирском морях Северного Ледовитого Океана. Численное моделирование позволяет предполагать, что ожидаемые изменения поверхности морского льда и альбедо в этом регионе приведут к значительным изменениям как в структуре водных масс и потоков, так и в соответствующих экосистемах. Таким образом, измерения состояния и динамики океанских потоков и экосистем в этом регионе очень важны.

Первая экспедиция по программе была проведена летом 2004 года, являлась междисциплинарной, и была посвящена исследованию физики водных масс, химии питательных веществ, пелагической и бентической (придонной) биологии, потоков метана и основных элементов Арктической атмосферной химии. Океанографические буйковые станции были впервые установлены в западной (российской) части Берингова пролива в 2004 г. Станции поднимались и переустанавливались ежегодно с 2005 по 2012 годы. Начиная с 2007 года в дополнение к трем станциям в западной части Берингова пролива, обслуживались (ежегодно поднимались и переустанавливались) пять станций в восточной (американской) части пролива.

Большое число CTD-станций (от английских слов Conductivity-электропроводность, Temperature-температура и Density-плотность), дающих вертикальные профили солености, температуры и плотности, а также бентических биологических станций было осуществлено в экспедициях 2005 - 2012 годов. В 2009 и 2012 году были успешно организованы и проведены комплексные экспедиции в Чукотском и Восточносибирском морях, а также Море Бофорта в развитие исследований междисциплинарных исследований, проведенных в 2004 году. Экспедиция 2009 года получила широкое освещение в прессе еще до ее завершения, включая публикации таких известных СМИ как Нью-Йорк Таймс и Агентство Рейтер. Более подробная информация может быть получена на сайте НОАА в разделе проекта РУСАЛКА: www.arctic.noaa.gov/aro/russian-american/2009/, а также на отдельном сайте проекта РУСАЛКА: www.rusalcaproject.com.

В зависимости от имеющихся финансовых ресурсов междисциплинарные и географически более широкие экспедиции в северную часть Берингова моря, Восточносибирское и Чукотское моря и в Море Бофорта будут организовываться каждые 2-4 года.


История успеха

А.А. Островский о проекте «РУСАЛКА»:

А.А. Островский о проекте «РУСАЛКА»:

«Главной целью этого проекта является проведение исследований для понимания причин и следствий климатических изменений в широтах Северного Ледовитого Океана. Проект РУСАЛКА осуществляется нашей компанией с 2003 года в тесном сотрудничестве с Национальной Администрацией США по Океанам и Атмосфере и при поддержке Российской Академии Наук.
Более чем десятилетний опыт успешного управления таким комплексным международным научным проектом не только позволил серьезно укрепить имидж нашей компании, но и вывел Группу Альянс на новый уровень в сфере управления международными исследовательскими программами».


Возврат к списку